RSS

Too Many Books

17 Oct

I’m reading so many things right now, they are all starting to blur together in a mishmosh of print and pixels. Thanks to Kindle library lending, I now have too many books in my queue. To date, I’m perusing:

  1. The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien – my third read. I’m on the second book of The Two Towers and feeling a little anxious. This book always depresses me, mostly because of Gollum. He comes so close to redeeming himself, and ultimately fails.
  2. Scat by Carl Hiassen. I read Flush, which was a fun, caperesque romp in the Florida Keys, but I’m finding Scat hard to immerse myself into. I may have to shelve this one for a while.
  3. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood. Another one I’m having a hard time immersing myself in. Perhaps my attention span is slipping.
  4. A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O’Connor. For my book club. We’re reading a few stories at a time. I don’t remember these being so depressing, but I’m soldiering on (as my book club vows never to allow me to choose the books again).
  5. A World on Fire by Amanda Foreman. I’ve always been fascinated by the American Civil War, and this book from a Brit’s perspective is compelling. It’s long and will probably take me a good while to get through.
  6. Nightingale Wood by Stella Gibbons. I really have to pick this one up again, but it’s not as snappy a read as Cold Comfort Farm.
  7. The Once and Future King by TH White. I really wish they would release the Kindle edition in the US, because the tiny print in my crumbling mass market paperback edition is a real annoyance.

I am also eyeballing Howl’s Moving Castle, but since I’ve read that umpteen times before, I really need to finish some of the other books on my list before I read it again.

Originally posted at my Tumblr on Oct. 16, 2011.

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Too Many Books

  1. Lina

    March 24, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    I know how you feel. Sometimes I feel overwhelmed by the amount of books I want read!

     
    • sabrina

      March 25, 2012 at 11:57 am

      It’s a good feeling though!

       
      • Lina

        March 27, 2012 at 5:36 am

        It’s a GREAT feeling! 😀 At least we know we’ll never be bored! I can’t wait until warmer weather hits, my favorite thing to do is sit on the porch in the sun and read with a book

         
  2. sabrina

    March 28, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    Love reading in the sun, especially with my Kindle. Which reminds me that I need to make my summer reading list . . .

     

Leave a Reply

 
