RSS

From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris

12 Oct

From Dead to Worse takes place a short time after All Together Dead. Sookie and the vampire community are dealing with the fallout from the Pyramid of Gizeh bombing. In its wake, Quinn is missing, and more than one more is out to kill Sookie.

The opening chapters finds Sookie as an impromptu bride’s maid, but the main purpose of this sequence is to position Bill as trying to win back Sookie’s hand, introduce Niall Brigand (Sookie’s great-grandfather), and set up the Las Vegas vampire king’s coup in the wake of the Gizeh tragedy.

As I sit here writing this review, I ask myself “did I actually read this?” Everything seems to blur together in a plotty hodgepodge and I find myself unable to care about what did or did not happen in this book. I long for the days of Dead Until Dark, and I am unlikely to read anymore Sookie novels. They’ve become too bloated and soapy, with meandering plots and too many long-lost relatives. True Blood, on the other hand, I’ll continue to watch, until it becomes equally nonsensical.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
