RSS

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

08 Aug

I really wanted to love Wuthering Heights. On the surface, it has everything you’d want in a Victorian Gothic novel: swirling melodrama, broody anti-heroes (and anti-heroines), family secrets, betrayal, death, etc. But I couldn’t get past how truly unlikeable everyone was, from the smug narrator to Cathy and Heathcliff. Everyone in this book needs therapy and medication.

The one saving grace is the writing, which is gorgeous. Bronte has a way of drawing you into her narrative, even when you don’t want to be there (although I did find her go at phonetic accents to be most distracting). I wondered what Emily Bronte’s other novels would have been like, had she not died at such a young age.

Still, even the beautiful writing could not persuade me to finish Wuthering Heights, because the story depressed me utterly.

Side note: I laughed when I found out that Wuthering Heights is Bella Swan’s favorite novel. Somehow, it fits.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2010 in Author: Emily Bronte, Literature

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

  1. Mimi

    December 20, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    I love this book. But like you, I could not like any of the characters. Everyone was insane, but that was part of the fun of reading this book. I felt like I was nosing into the lives of some strange neighbors. I’m disturbed that some people think Heathcliff is romantic. How? Their relationship is vile in every way possible!

    Maybe that’s why the book is Bella Swan’s favorite.

    Like

     
  2. sabrina

    December 23, 2010 at 1:22 am

    I keep dipping back into it and hoping it will get better . . . and feeling terrible that I hate this literary classic. I love the conflict and the dark and storminess, but I dislike everyone in this book, including the narrator, who is probably making this all up anyway.

    I could never understand the fascination with Heathcliff. He seems like he’s just a jerk. At least Rochester had flair (even though he did lock his wife up in the attic for a good while).

    Of course, I could never make it all the way through Twilight, for very similar reasons.

    Great characters are as essential as great plots.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
