RSS

Saturday Smatterings

15 May

I’ve been on something of an unintentional reading sabbatical these last few weeks. I still have way too many books to get through and not enough hours in the day. But I’m starting to pick up steam again. Next up, The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey. So far, I’m really enjoying it. Trenton Lee Stewart has a fresh voice for young adult writing that does not talk down to his younger readers. I love that his characters have continued to grow and develop from the last book into wonderfully complex people.

I started reading the ARC for Yann Martel’s new novel Beatrice and Virgil. Promising so far. I never did finish Life of Pi. It just sort of fizzled out for me, so I’m hoping this one will be more engaging.

I read the most incredible preview for the strangest book, The Gnoll Credo by J. Stanton. It has an otherworldly, adventuresome flavor–The Lion King meets Avatar. Looks a bit on the short side for a novel, but seems like a fun read. Do yourself a favor and read the preview.

In semi-related news, now that I’ve moved my writing desk next to the window, the cat has commandeered it as a make-shift bed. But she looks so cute I can’t bear to tell her to skedaddle.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 15, 2010 in Saturday Smatterings

 

Leave a Reply

 
