RSS

Wednesday Whatever – books in the queue

24 Mar

I have way too many books just sitting on my shelves begging with puppy dog eyes to be read. Unfortunately, I keep buying books and the unread books keep piling up, until I’m consumed with guilt and have no shelf space. Right now, I’m reading a few different things:

  1. The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart. Meddling kids, megalomaniacal geniuses, and mysteries. I’m really enjoying this children’s book. I flew through most of it this weekend and I’ve left the last few pages to savor.
  2. Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes. A mentally retarded man volunteers for an experiment with the desperate hope it will make him smarter. Ultimately kind of depressing. I don’t think I’ll finish this one.
  3. Mickelsson’s Ghosts by John Gardner. Gardner is one of my favorite writers, but his massive novel about self-centered philosophy professor Peter Mickelsson is a little hard to stomach. I much preferred October Light, which was brilliant and relateable. I love that New Directions have reissued his backlist, which had languished out of print for far too long.
  4. Romancing Miss Bronte by Juliet Gael. Advanced Reading Copy. Fictionalized account of how Charlotte Bronte started her writing career. Surprisingly engrossing, though the writing is not as literary as I would have imagined. I normally dislike books of this genre, but I will finish this one.

And I’m eying the rest of the Sookie Stackhouse series and reading some Stephanie Plum novels during lunch at work. It’s a wonder I finish anything.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 24, 2010 in Wednesday Whatever

 

Leave a Reply

 
